Thinking back - Reisverslag uit Asten, Nederland van Sharon Heijden - WaarBenJij.nu Thinking back - Reisverslag uit Asten, Nederland van Sharon Heijden - WaarBenJij.nu

Thinking back

Door: Sharon van der Heijden

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sharon

17 Mei 2015 | Nederland, Asten

My skin has gotten more of a teint. My hair has become blonder. My ego has grown :)

17 days in Turkey. 17 days of beautiful weather (with a little bit of rain and thunder sometimes). 17 days of hard working. 17 days of having so much fun. 17 days of trying to do things outside of my room, untill being caught by my colleagues, who were told to keep an eye on me ;). 3 days of disco. 1 day of being a real guest, 3 days with some hours of being a guest (which means drinking cocktails, laying in the sun, swimming and then getting back to work again). 17 days of eating rice twice a day. 17 days of walking, so much of walking. I think I walked kilometres each day again. 17 days of growing calve muscles. 7 days (I think) of aching calve muscles, after 4 days it started and after 7 days I guess they got used to the walking, so it stopped. 4 days of aching ankles, which also stopped again, so I guess they are stronger now than they were before. 17 days of cleaning hundreds of forks and knifes, and putting them all down in the exact same way, which took me hours and hours. 17 days of making so many tables; putting down 'kapaks' (table cloths), 'pejete'boxes (napkinboxes), cups with tuz ve karabiber (salt and pepper), kuluks (ashtrays), pecetes themselves, putting mandals on the masas (clips for table clothes on the tables), etc. 17 days of moving every single masa and sandalie (table and chair), so that everything looks symmetrical. 17 days of folding hundreds of pejetes. 17 days of 'making contact with the guests'. 17 days of helping so many guests with all their wishes, and thus looking at the chef and all the cooks as sweetly as possible (?), in order to achieve what the guests want. 17 days of having very nice and very interesting conversations with guests. 17 days of learning much about the Turkish culture(s). 17 days of learning as much Turkish as possible in such a short time. 15 days of sneaking out of my room, to the supermarket ;). 13 days of sneaking out of my room and talking to my friends at the bazar ;). 10 days of sitting on the stairs in front of the staff-building, enjoying the sun. 17 days of talking to random strangers and have really interesting conversations.

But above all; 17 days of ENJOYING. I had a wonderful time in Turkey and apparently the big bosses were satisfied. They told me I can always come back if I ever want to, so we'll see, maybe this blog will ever be continued...


Please note: I learned Turkish by speech, so the written words may be incorrect :)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sharon

Actief sinds 27 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 364
Totaal aantal bezoekers 112893

Voorgaande reizen:

05 April 2017 - 31 Juli 2017

Rondreis Colombia

08 September 2016 - 23 December 2016

Vrijwilligerswerk + rondreis Zuid-Amerika

28 April 2015 - 15 Mei 2015

First trip

Landen bezocht: