The Great Journey - Reisverslag uit Antalya, Turkije van Sharon Heijden - WaarBenJij.nu The Great Journey - Reisverslag uit Antalya, Turkije van Sharon Heijden - WaarBenJij.nu

The Great Journey

Door: Sharon van der Heijden

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Sharon

15 Mei 2015 | Turkije, Antalya

5 o'clock. My phone is making noise. Bleh. I'll have to wake up, I guess. I decide to just ignore the phone a little longer, but my phone doesn't care about that. After a few minutes it just starts again. And after some more minutes it is supported by my mom. That means it's really time to wake up now. My mom has already prepared some bread for me.. So sweet.. I only need to get dressed myself, maybe brush my teeth :), etc. and we can depart towards reception. It is so cold outside and I'm not ready to go. Unfortunately, my flight hasn't been cancelled, or even delayed a bit :( . The bus arrives exactly in time, at 5.50 that is. Yeah, I think I'll die today. After I got in the bus (I'm the 3d person to be picked up, which means that the others had to be ready even earlier than me, so they have more right to die :) ), I almost immediately fell asleep. I only woke up sometimes, everytime again noticing the bus getting more and more crowdy. So, I got an extra 2 hours of sleep I guess.. Maybe I'll be even able to survive today.. Arriving at the airport, I'm the only person who needs to get out at terminal 2, so after having passed terminal 1, I'm the only one left in the bus. For one moment the bus driver looked at me like: what are you still doing in my bus, but then I think he remembered I had to go to terminal 2. Arriving there, I see enormous lines in front of luggage control.. That means waiting.. This is not a big problem for me, since I still was half dead, so I didn't know the meaning of hurrying at that moment. Then I had to do everything everybody always needs to do at the airport; checking in, passport control (read: showing the most beautiful picture ever taken of me to way too many people...) etc. Then there were 3 quarters of waiting, which I decided to spend eating my breakfast, meanwhile enjoying a mocha coffee from the Starbucks. So strange, everywhere in Turkey you get a 2.9 lira for 1 euro, but only here this was different. The stupid coffee cost me 5 euros (!!). But it did taste very good. Then it was time for me to go to the gate; I had been looking at all the information boards for the necessary information (like which gate to go to) and only when we started boarding I found out that all this information was also mentioned at my boarding pass. I made it though, getting on the airplane, without any problems, way in time, all by myself. So proud.. Or actually not, but it would have been likely for me to forget my passport or get lost or something.
Around 10.45 they started boarding and around 11.30 we got in the air. Now I'm still in the airplane, there seems to be no ending to the flight, partly because I forgot my book (!). I guess it's in my suitcase.. So I have been completing my blog over the last 3 hours, interrupted with some minutes of sleep sometime. In the bus as well as in the plane, I have been thinking a lot about my friends in Turkey. Saying goodbye to most people wasn't really very difficult for me, but I do feel a bit sad now...
There is a lot of turbulence, sometimes I'd almost say it's scary.. This makes it quite difficult to write, since my hand makes some really unexpected and uncontrolled movements, caused by this turbulence. The prospect of my 2 sisters (Saskia and Linda) and Saskia's children (Daan and Maud), standing at the airport when I arrive, does make me a little happier. I'm looking forward to giving them a hug, (especially the little ones) and giving them my presents.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Sharon

Actief sinds 27 April 2015
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 112856

Voorgaande reizen:

05 April 2017 - 31 Juli 2017

Rondreis Colombia

08 September 2016 - 23 December 2016

Vrijwilligerswerk + rondreis Zuid-Amerika

28 April 2015 - 15 Mei 2015

First trip

Landen bezocht: